Wood Sculptor in the Northen of Cyprus: “The Secret Box shop” in Kyrenia

If you will have the chance to visit Kyrenia, in the Northen side of Cyprus, i recommend you to stop by “The Secret Box Shop”. It’s a small shop,  in the centre of Kyrenia. Quite magical and typical. Inside you will find a sculptor. I really would love to remember his name. He gave me his card but i’m afraid i’ve lost it in my journeys. He creates and sells his hand carved wooden boxes with secrets opening mechanisms.

secret box shop

He made all these boxes. Some of them have more than 18/17 mechanisms are are almost impossible to open.  Believe me, when i entered, he gave me a box and told me: “open it”….

wood toys

After 30 minutes i was still trying to open that box… and i could not. His boxes are quite different from those you commonly find in the Maghreb Area: The mechanisms here are more precise, and he really gives an attention to the detail. What he does really have a soul.

wood craft

He explained to me that he comes from a long family tradition of wood sculptors. Some of the mechanisms are so complicated that you still do not figure out how it works, even after 5/6 times he shows you. I was fascinated.

cyprus wood shop

While he was speaking to me he offered us some tea. I really felt the good spirit of the people living there. People from Cyprus are just lovely. They are the most gentle people i have ever met. They really help you, offer you what they have in order to share. I was really touched by all this kindness that is completely lost in big cities like Paris.

 

 

Leave a Reply

