May’s Music Advices: Coltrane’s Sound … Let’s Fall in love with some Jazz.

Let’s plunge into the heart of Jazz this month.

I know that many persons just can’t stand Jazz music. I’m not joking.
I heard several times things like “This noise stress me out!”, “it’s boring: there’s no voice!”, “it’s nonsense”. That’s because in my opinion, Jazz is not only a genre. It’s a real life style.
I bought a book last week “How Jazz can change your life”, written by Wynton Marsalis. I’m only at the beginning, but i totally agree with Marsalis when he talks about Jazz as a life-style, a way to face life.
Every genre may have this power, but the Jazz is unique in his way of  settle his power inside your life, your way to think and handle people and events.

Since i totally fell for Jazz music
I can say my life has changed.
In a better way.

That’s why i want to share it with you.

In Italy, many persons think about Jazz music as if it was a kind of fashion stuff: “no, Jazz is only for cool people”. It’s a kind of hip trend that makes you appear an arrogant intellectual, who is clever than stupid people who listen to other genres. Isn’t this silly?
In my point of view, it’s exactly the opposite.

It’s not a matter of culture and intelligence.
It’s a metter of heart.
Emotions. That’s why:
Jazz is for everyone. 
But many persons are scared to listen at it, without mental blocks, hindrances made of fear for something that is atavistic, deeply engraved in our instinct and soul.

Of course you can’t listen to Jazz if you’re too stressed, if you really don’t listen to it!

The Cd i propose this month is “Coltrane’s sound”. I choose Coltrane because i think this musician has really the power to speak directly to you heart, with no filter. I really love “Equinox”. I’ll leave a link here.

Musicians:
John Coltrane: Tenor saxophone
Steve Davis: Bass
Elvin Jones: Drums
McCoy Tyner: Piano

This is really strong. I think this music never let you fell lonely. Every sound chases the other. Air is filled with rhythm. And the rhythm that come out is pure emotion.

And ALL you have to do is to put yourself in Coltrane’s saxophone.

Here’s the full album:


Have a nice Journey.

Leave a Reply

